LegislatureTop News

A’Ibom Assembly Ratifies Commissioners, Special Adviser Into State Council

As Bill to Improve Electricity Supply in AKS Passes First Reading

Twenty-three Commissioners and one Special Adviser nominees have been screened and confirmed for appointment into the State Executive Council by the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

The confirmation was made following a report presented to the House by the Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions on Tuesday’s plenary, July 25, 2023.

Recall that Governor Umo Eno, on Thursday, July 20, 2023, forwarded 24 nominees to the State House of Assembly for confirmation into the State Executive Council which was later referred to the Committee on Judiciary, Justice, Human Rights and Public Petitions for scrutiny.

Presenting the report of the Committee, the Chairman, Hon. Prince-Aniefiok Attah (Nsit Atai), stated that the credentials and other relevant documents of the nominees were screened and they all met the constitutional requirements for appointment as members of the State Council as enshrined in section 192(4) and 106 of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

Attah commended the state governor, Pastor Umo Eno for selecting men and women of proven integrity into the State Executive Council and further urged the nominees to give in their best when sworn-in.

Read Also: Reside In Your Domains, Governor Umo Eno Directs Local Govt Chairmen

Subsequently, the House after interacting with the nominees, considered the Committee’s recommendation and confirmed their appointments as Commissioners and Special Adviser.

In the House resolution, Elder Amanam Nkanga was confirmed as Special Adviser while Commissioners also confirmed were Uko Essien Udom, SAN, Sir Monday Ebong Uko, Mr Nsikan Linus Nkan, Mr Bob Almond Emem, Capt. Iniobong Edward Ekong, Dr. Bassey Bassey Okon, Mr Charles Udoh, Hon. Orman Esin, Offiong Samuel Offor, Engr. Camillus Essien Umoh, Rt. Hon. Uno Etim Uno, Otuekong Raphael Bassey and Aniefiok Isaac Nkom.

Others included were Prof. Eno James Ibanga, Hon. Frank Archibong, Prof. Augustine Vincent Umoh, Dr. Ini Adiakpan, Mrs. Idongesit Etiebet, Ini Ememobong Essien, Dr. Imo Moffat, Enobong Udemeabasi Mbobo (Mrs), John James Etim and Brig. Gen. Koko Essien, Rtd.

Presiding over the sitting, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. (Elder) Udeme Otong, in his remarks, directed the Clerk, Mrs Nsikakabasi Orok, to communicate the resolution of the House to the Executive Governor for further action.

Also at Plenary, a Bill for a Law to improve Electricity Supply, Power Generation and Distribution in Akwa Ibom State and for Connected Purposes, sponsored by Hon. Udobia Friday Udo (Esit Eket/Ibeno), was read for the first time and referred to the House Committee on Rules, Ethics and Privileges for legislative action.

In the meantime, the House has adjourned the plenary till Tuesday, August 1, 2023.

Related Articles

Back to top button