Top News

AKHA Effects Minor Shake-Up In Standing Committees


The Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, on Tuesday January 21, 2020 effected minor changes in the leadership of some Standing Committees.

Announcing the changes, the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey said the new arrangement has, the House Committee on Science and Technology which had Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey as the Interim Chairman, is now headed by the Member representing Ini State Constituency and Chief Whip of the House, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekpenyong.

The Committee on Petroleum Matters previously headed by the former Member representing Mbo State Constituency, Hon. Okon Frank is now chaired by the Member representing Etim Ekpo/Ika State Constituency, Hon. Mfon Idung who was before now, the Chairman, Committee on Economic Planning.

It also has that the House Committee on Boundary and Conflict Resolution which was formerly headed by the Member representing Ini State Constituency, Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Ekpenyong is now headed by the Member representing Mbo State Constituency, Hon. Chief Effiong Johnson, as Chairman.

The Speaker also appointed Hon. (Chief) Effiong Johnson as a Member into seven Standing Committees, including Economic Planning, Health, Women Affairs, Works and Transport, Environment and Mineral Resources, Petroleum Matters and Special Duties, Project Monitoring, Implementation and Aviation. He pointed out that the re-adjustments were to ensure political inclusion and effective service delivery in the 7th Assembly.

He also noted that the Chairman, Deputy Chairman and Members of all other Special and Standing Committees of the House as earlier constituted, remain the same till further notice.

Related Articles

Back to top button